Skip to main content
ISU University Museums
Main Content

Bring the family to the Brunnier Art Museum and take 'a walk back in time'

Posted on 10/14/2019 at 11:30 AM by Betsy Grabinski

University Museums introduces a new program series called Family Sundays, an educational and interactive event for families hosted by the Brunnier Art Museum on the Iowa State campus. The first Family Sunday will be help on Sunday, October 20 and will focus on the current exhibition Artists in Iowa: The First Century. The museum will be open from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. and is located on the second floor of the Scheman Building at 1805 Center Drive, Ames.

 

Museum visitors will have the opportunity to "walk back in time" and learn about the artists who worked in Iowa from the 1830s to 1950 during a program from 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. Following a family-friendly tour, there will be a craft activity based on the exhibition. Although the program is geared towards elementary aged children, it is open to all age groups. Both the program and museum admission are free, however there is a suggested donation of $3 per visitor.

 

"This is an opportunity for families to engage in the arts and learn about Iowa's history," said Lilah Anderson, University Museums' Educator of Visual Literacy and Learning. "We want families to experience the museum and feel welcome as well as encouraged to return for future exhibitions and events."

 

The next Family Sunday will be held on November 24. Author, musician and art collector Karen Duncan will read her children's book Chica and then sign copies of this fun bi-lingual tale of a dog's journey through Mexico. The book is based on the author's own experience and is illustrated by Omaha artist Jason Broghammer.

 

This program is sponsored by the Kathy and John Howell Enrichment Program.


 

Image Above: Brooke Rogers, Interpretive Specialist, leads an Art Walk through the Artists in Iowa: The First Century exhibition in the Brunnier Art Museum. The work of art she is explaining is called Drawing, by Wacochachi, c. 1830. On loan from the State Historical Society of Iowa 

© 2019 University Museums, Iowa State University. All rights reserved.