Skip to main content
ISU University Museums
Main Content

Artists in Iowa: The First Century Exhibition

At the Brunnier Art Museum
Exhibition runs from September 20 to December 22, 2019 

Artists in Iowa: The First Century will explore the diversity in art within the state from Meskwaki traditional art to the paintings of the New Deal. A publication, related programming, and scholarly symposium will further explore the growth of art in Iowa.

Artists in Iowa: The First Century, will examine over 45 Iowa artists and how they have depicted the land and the life of the state throughout its history. Exhibition will be open regular hours September 20 to December 22, 2019.

Accompanying the exhibition is a new major publication, written by Dr. Lea Rosson DeLong, which discusses the seventy works of art by over forty-five Iowa artists in the exhibition. The 258-page full color publication will be available for purchase. Cost is $45.00 each.

Visit the Brunnier Art Museum

Hours: Monday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. (closed holidays)
Address: Scheman Building (2nd Floor), 1805 Center Drive, Ames, Iowa
Admission: The cost is free, however there is a suggested donation of $3 per visitor.

Image above: Threshing by Dorothea Tomlinson Marquis, 1933. In the permanent collection, Brunnier Art Museum, University Museums, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa.

This exhibition and publication is curated and organized by University Museums. The exhibition and publication is supported, in part, by the Iowa Arts Council, a division of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Generous support was also given by: Martha Allen estate; Janie Rosson Bass and Thomas R. Bass; Janice Rosson Brazil; James Carney; Frank and Marilyn Carroll; Karen and Arnold Engman; Dorothy Ewing; Cynde and Bill Fanter; Ann Hornbaker Feinberg; Chuck and Joanne Frederiksen; Ann and Ashley Haase; Charlotte and Fred Hubbell; Arthur Klein; Jennifer and Chuck Larson; Janelle and George McClain; Timothy and Rosemary Rahm; Jonathan Sukup; Vivian Torrence; Carol Warner in memory of James L. Warner, and the Michael and Marne Woods Endowed Iowa Foundation.

Back to the main exhibitions page

© 2019 University Museums, Iowa State University. All rights reserved.